MongoDB

أصبحت MongoDB مشهورة في الأوساط الأكاديمية والمهنية. يتيح استخدام نظام قاعدة البيانات هذا إمكانية تخزين البيانات غير المهيكلة بطريقة بسيطة للغاية. بشكل عام ، يجب وضع هذا النوع من قواعد البيانات في بيئة يسهل الوصول إليها.
للحصول على المقالة كاملة على MongoDB ...

إظهار عامل التصفية
مرشحات الاستضافة
Host Me Host Filter

نظام تشغيل

مساحة القرص

ذاكرة وصول العشوائي

نوع القرص

النوى CPU

فرز

Trust Pilot Dream VPS
النتيجة - 8.6
Dream VPS Logo
Dream VPS

Dream VPS

STARTER
$3.75 /شهريا

المراجعات 7


مواقع الخادم


Dream VPS Servers in Hong Kongهونج كونج Dream VPS Servers in Santa Clara Dream VPS Servers in New Yorkالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية Dream VPS Servers in Londonالمملكة المتحدة Dream VPS Servers in Amsterdamهولندا Dream VPS Servers in Frankfurtألمانيا Dream VPS Servers in Israelإسرائيل
قارن
النتيجة - 0
Heroku Logo
Heroku

هيروكو

Hobby
$7 /شهريا


مواقع الخادم


Heroku Servers in United Statesالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية
قارن
النتيجة - 0
Infra Networking Logo
Infra Networking

شبكات الأشعة تحت الحمراء

ALFA
$4.19 /شهريا


مواقع الخادم


Infra Networking Servers in Jakartaإندونيسيا Infra Networking Servers in Dallasالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية Infra Networking Servers in Dublinأيرلندا Infra Networking Servers in Londonالمملكة المتحدة Infra Networking Servers in Frankfurt am Mainألمانيا Infra Networking Servers in Singaporeسنغافورة Infra Networking Servers in Amsterdamهولندا Infra Networking Servers in Uruguayأوروغواي
قارن

استضافة قواعد بيانات MongoDB

 

MongoDB

 

في السنوات الأخيرة ، اكتسب موقع MongoDB شهرة في الأوساط الأكاديمية والمهنية. يتيح استخدام نظام قاعدة البيانات هذا إمكانية تخزين البيانات غير المهيكلة بطريقة بسيطة للغاية.

 

بشكل عام ، يجب أن يكون هذا النوع من قواعد البيانات موجودًا في بيئة يسهل الوصول إليها ، لأن التطبيقات التي تستخدم قاعدة البيانات هذه تحتاج عمومًا إلى القيام بذلك في مواقع بعيدة فعليًا. بالنظر إلى هذه الحاجة ، تقدم هذه المقالة طريقة لتخزين وتنفيذ العمليات الأساسية في MongoDB باستخدام خدمة استضافة الويب. مناقشة هذا الموضوع مفيدة لأولئك الذين يريدون معرفة كيفية إنشاء وإدارة قواعد بيانات MongoDB في السحابة. من أجل تقديم حلول لإدارة هذا النوع من قواعد البيانات ، تشير المقالة أيضًا إلى أدوات رسومية لإدارتها. في جميع أنحاء المقال ، سيتم التركيز على تقنيات تطوير تطبيقات الويب باستخدام لغة برمجة Java.

 

للوصول إلى قاعدة البيانات ، سيتم تطوير خدمة الويب ، والتي سيتم استضافتها على مضيف مجاني. لاختبار الخدمة ، سيتم تطوير تطبيق وحدة تحكم بلغة Java. أخيرًا ، يوضح لك المقال كيفية اختبار ومراقبة خدمة الويب وقاعدة بيانات MongoDB.

 

مصطلح NoSQL لا يعني فقط SQL ، أي ليس SQL فقط. تم اقتراح معاني أخرى في البداية ، ولكن هذا هو الأكثر اعتمادًا من قبل المجتمع. ظهرت قواعد بيانات NoSQL لتسهيل تخزين البيانات ومعالجتها بكميات كبيرة ، مما يوفر هيكلًا يسمح بقابلية التوسع العالية.

 

يوجد حاليًا حوالي 150 قاعدة بيانات NoSQL مختلفة. تكتسب MongoDB متابعين جدد بسبب وثائقها الواسعة ومجتمعها المشترك.

 

بدأت حركة MongoDB في أوائل عام 2009 ومنذ ذلك الحين تمت إضافة المزيد من الميزات والميزات إلى MongoDB ، مثل الدعم بدون مخطط ، والنسخ السهل ، وواجهة برمجة التطبيقات البسيطة ، وبرامج التشغيل للغات مختلفة ، وأدوات التلاعب ، وتحديثات الوظائف ، وأكثر من ذلك بكثير.

 

تتكون مجموعة قاعدة بيانات NoSQL من قواعد بيانات موجهة للتطبيق والتي تدير كميات كبيرة من البيانات ، وتعتمد ميزات قابلية التوسع ، وبروتوكول REST ، و MapReduce (اقرأ المربع 1) ​​، وميزات أخرى عالية الأداء.

 

المربع 1: MapReduce

 

MapReduce هو نموذج برمجة قدمته Google بهدف دعم المعالجة المتوازية على مجموعات البيانات الموزعة على عدة أجهزة كمبيوتر (الكتلة). يعتمد تشغيل هذا النموذج على ميزتين: تعيين وتقليل. من أجل تنفيذ عمليات توحيد البحث التي يتم تجميع بياناتها ، يرسل الطالب بحثه إلى عدة أجهزة كمبيوتر في وقت واحد.

 

في هذه اللحظة ، يتم إجراء التعيين (الخريطة) بين الطالب والمجموعة ، ثم يتم تجميع البيانات الناتجة عن البحث (تقليل) إنشاء نتيجة البحث لتسليمها إلى الطالب.

 

يشير الاختصار REST إلى نقل الدولة التمثيلي. إنها تقنية تستخدم على نطاق واسع في أنظمة معالجة البيانات الموزعة (CRUD) باستخدام مكالمات HTTP فقط. هذا النوع من الاستدعاءات يبسط البرمجة ، ويلخص المهام ذات المستوى المنخفض للمبرمج ، مما يتيح تنفيذ إجراءات مختلفة في خدمات الويب. المكالمات التي تم إجراؤها هي في الأساس لإدخال البيانات (POST) ، استعلام البيانات (GET) ، تحديث البيانات (PUT) ، وحذف البيانات (DELETE).

 

MongoDB

 

أول شيء يجب التفكير فيه عند البدء بـ NoSQL هو المقارنة. بما أننا لا نستطيع أن نفشل في الحديث ، فإننا نذهب إلى مقارنة المصطلحات الرئيسية فيما يتعلق بالبنوك العلائقية.

في MongoDB ، يمكن أن يكون كل مستند متميزًا تمامًا عن مستند آخر في نفس المجموعة ، وهذا ليس صحيحًا في النموذج العلائقي. عادة ، تتم كتابة البيانات بتنسيق BSON (Binary JSON).

 

لاتباع الخطوات الموضحة في القسم التالي ، ليس من الضروري تثبيت برنامج MongoDB على الكمبيوتر المحلي.

 

التثبيت على الكمبيوتر المحلي هو فقط لغرض اختبار أسرع وأبسط. إذا أراد القارئ تثبيت MongoDB على جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص به والتلاعب به ، فإليك بعض الأوامر الأولية التي يمكن أن تكون مفيدة. لتشغيل الخدمة (البرنامج الخفي) ، يجب مراعاة الأمر التالي: / mongo. مع تشغيل الخدمة ، يمكننا بدء مترجم الأوامر: / mongo ، الأوامر الأساسية لسرد قواعد البيانات هي: إظهار قواعد البيانات DBS أو إظهار قواعد البيانات. لاختيار استخدام قاعدة بيانات (إذا لم تكن موجودة ، فسيتم إنشاء قاعدة البيانات sqlMagazine): استخدم sqlMagazine من المهم أن تدرك حقيقة أن الأحرف الكبيرة والصغيرة مختلفة ، كن حذرًا مع هذه التفاصيل.

 

أدوات MongoDB

 

بعد العديد من الأوامر ، لدينا بالفعل قاعدة للمضي قدمًا. تعد معرفة الأوامر أمرًا ضروريًا لتطوير التطبيقات ، ومع ذلك ، بالنسبة للإدارة ، هناك أدوات رسومية أخرى تعتبر حلفاء جيدين. على سبيل المثال ، تم التقاط الشكلين 1 و 2 من برنامج MongoHub.

 

هناك أدوات أخرى للوصول إلى MongoDB ، مثل RockMongo و MongoVUE. تحتاج أداة RockMongo إلى خدمات أخرى (PHP و Apache) ، بالإضافة إلى تنشيط وحدة MongoDB في تكوين PHP. تم اعتماد هذه الأداة كمعيار في OpenShift ، لذلك من الجيد أن تكون على دراية بها.

 

أداة MongoVUE مخصصة فقط لأجهزة الكمبيوتر التي تعمل بأنظمة تشغيل Microsoft Windows. يقدم ميزات جيدة.

 

لمستخدمي نظام تشغيل Apple (Mac OS 10.6.x أو أعلى) ، هناك أداة MongoHub. على الرغم من وجود موقع ويب محدد لهذه الأداة.

 

إنشاء حساب لاستضافة التطبيق

 

الهدف هو إتاحة قاعدة البيانات على الويب وتمكين الوصول إليها بواسطة تطبيق موجود أيضًا على الويب أو عن طريق تطبيق مثبت على جهاز كمبيوتر آخر. الخدمة المختارة لاستضافة قاعدة البيانات هي OpenShift. في هذا ، يمكن للمستخدم إنشاء ما يصل إلى ثلاثة تطبيقات وفي كل منها ، من الممكن إنشاء العديد من الخدمات ، مثل تطبيقات Java و PHP و Phyton و Ruby وغيرها.

 

إذا كنت ترغب في إنشاء المزيد من التطبيقات على نفس الحساب أو حتى استئجار خدمات أخرى وموارد قابلية التوسع ، فيجب عليك إنشاء حساب مدفوع. تقدم OpenShift نظامًا أساسيًا كخدمة ، تم تحديدها بواسطة اختصار PaaS. دعنا ننتقل إلى الخطوات اللازمة لإنشاء حساب.

 

في البداية ، يجب على المستخدم الانتقال إلى عنوان منفذ OpenShift: واختيار الخيار. ستظهر شاشة التسجيل كما هو موضح بالشكل.

 

mongodb

 

فقط أدخل البيانات وانقر فوق "تسجيل الدخول". سيتم إرسال بريد إلكتروني لتأكيد التسجيل ، من الضروري النقر فوق الارتباط الموجود في هذا البريد الإلكتروني لتفعيل التسجيل ويكون لإنشاء التطبيقات.

 

عند الوصول إلى حساب OpenShift الخاص بك ، من الممكن إنشاء الخدمات المطلوبة ، كما يتم تقديم الإرشادات للوصول إلى التطبيقات عن طريق سطر الأوامر ، واستخدام JBossالمطور Studio IDE ، والعديد من الموارد الأخرى. من أجل تسهيل هذه الخطوة بخطوة ، سننشئ التطبيق تلقائيًا بعد تطويره محليًا.

يجب إجراء بعض الإعدادات في حساب OpenShift الخاص بنا. بعد الوصول إلى الحساب ، يجب أن نذهب إلى "الإعدادات". المقطع ، كما هو مبين في الشكل.

 

mongodb

 

في مربع النص & ldquo ؛ اسم المجال & rdquo ؛ يجب أن نكتب اسم المجال المطلوب ، في هذا الاختبار نكتب & ldquo ؛ مجلة SQL & rdquo ؛. هذا الاسم (الحد الأقصى لعدد الأحرف هو 16) مجاني للاختيار ، ومع ذلك ، فمن المهم لأنه سيتم استخدامه في مشروع Java الخاص بنا. ثم انقر فوق & ldquo ؛ حفظ & rdquo ؛ اختيار.

 

بعد الانتهاء من هذه الخطوة ، يمكننا العودة إلى "التطبيقات" انقر فوق علامة التبويب & ldquo ؛ أنشئ تطبيقك الأول الآن & rdquo ؛ اختيار. ستظهر قائمة بالخدمات المتنوعة التي يمكننا إنشاؤها. دعنا نختار & ldquo ؛ JBoss Application Server 7 & rdquo ؛. ثم يتم عرض نافذة اختيار اسم التطبيق

 

هذا الاسم مجاني أيضًا ، ولكن يجب أن يكون اسمًا سهل التذكر ، حيث سنحتاجه على الفور. في هذا الاختبار ، نكتب "MongoDB".

 

الخطوة التالية هي النقر فوق & ldquo ؛ إنشاء تطبيق & rdquo ؛. قد تستغرق هذه العملية بضع ثوانٍ أو حتى دقائق ، انتظر حتى تكتمل العملية. الآن يمكننا العودة إلى & ldquo ؛ التطبيقات & rdquo ؛ علامة التبويب وانقر فوق التطبيق الذي تم إنشاؤه.

 

في هذه المرحلة ، سنضيف MongoDB إلى تطبيقنا. للقيام بذلك ، ما عليك سوى النقر فوق التطبيق ، في هذا المثال & ldquo ؛ mongodb & rdquo ؛ ثم انقر فوق "إضافة MongoDB 2.4" ،. إذا فتحت نافذة تحتوي على معلومات وإرشادات ، فإن الرابط & ldquo ؛ متابعة إلى صفحة نظرة عامة على التطبيق & rdquo ؛ سيتم عرضه ، والذي يجب النقر فوقه ، ثم سيكون من الممكن النقر فوق "إضافة MongoDB 2.4".

 

ثم انقر فوق "إضافة كارتريدج". يمكن أن تستغرق هذه العملية أيضًا بضع ثوانٍ. ستظهر بعد ذلك شاشة تحتوي على معلومات مهمة للوصول إلى قاعدة البيانات ، ومن المهم تسجيل هذه المعلومات حيث سيتم استخدامها في الخطوات التالية. المعلومات هي اسم المستخدم وكلمة المرور واسم قاعدة البيانات.

 

في هذه اللحظة لدينا بالفعل خادم (JBoss Application Server) تحت تصرفنا وقاعدة بيانات NoSQL (MongoDB). الآن فقط قم بإنشاء خدمة ويب للوصول إلى هذا البنك ومشروع للوصول إلى خدمة الويب هذه.

 

تطوير التطبيقات

 

في الأساس ، سيكون لدينا تطبيقان وقاعدة بيانات. سيكون التطبيق الأول مسؤولاً عن تقديم طلبات لقاعدة البيانات. سيكون هذا التطبيق بمثابة مثال بسيط للغاية ، فقط لاختبار أداء خدمة الويب. سيكون التطبيق الثاني (خدمة الويب) مسؤولاً عن تلقي الطلبات من الأول والوصول إلى قاعدة البيانات.

 

دعنا ننتقل إلى التطبيق الأول. متطلباته الأساسية هي Eclipse Kepler ومكتبتان لواجهة برمجة التطبيقات (واجهة برنامج التطبيق) Jersey (jersey-client و jersey-core). من أجل تسهيل وتبسيط الخطوات الموضحة هنا خطوة بخطوة ، سنقوم بإنشاء تطبيق Java في Eclipse Kepler.

 

تم الحصول على الصور لتوضيح خطوة بخطوة باستخدام نظام التشغيل Mac OS 10.9.3 ، ومع ذلك ، يمكن للقارئ استخدام Microsoft Windows أو حتى توزيع Linux.

 

ضمن وصول Eclipse: ملف ، جديد ، مشروع. في النافذة التالية ، اختر & ldquo ؛ Java Project & rdquo ؛ وانقر على "التالي". ثم أدخل اسمًا للمشروع ، واختر الخيار & ldquo ؛ إنهاء & rdquo ؛.

الآن نحن بحاجة إلى إنشاء فصل دراسي في المشروع. للقيام بذلك ، ما عليك سوى النقر بزر الماوس الأيمن على & ldquo ؛ src & rdquo ؛، & ldquo ؛ New & rdquo ؛، & ldquo ؛ Class & rdquo ؛.

 

في الشاشة التالية ، يجب علينا كتابة اسم للفصل والتحقق من الخيار & ldquo؛ Create the main method & rdquo؛ & ldquo ؛ public static void main (String [] args) & rdquo ؛ وانقر فوق & ldquo ؛ إنهاء & rdquo ؛،

يهدف مشروع Java هذا إلى تسجيل المعلومات في قاعدة بيانات MongoDB التي سيتم استضافتها على الويب. يسمح نوع الاستضافة المستخدم بالوصول الخارجي إلى قاعدة البيانات ، أي أن التطبيقات من أي مكان يمكنها الوصول إلى خادم قاعدة البيانات ، ومع ذلك ، من الضروري إعادة توجيه المنافذ على الجهاز المحلي.

 

نظرًا لأن هذا يمكن أن يصبح أمرًا معقدًا للغاية يجب القيام به عندما يتعلق الأمر بأجهزة الكمبيوتر الخارجة عن سيطرتنا أو حتى أجهزة الكمبيوتر التي تحتاج إلى الاستمرار في الوصول إلى المنافذ المحلية ، أو حتى عندما يتعلق الأمر بالأجهزة المحمولة ، فإن إعادة توجيه المنفذ ليس هو أفضل طريقة. بهذه الطريقة ، سيصل مشروع Java الخاص بنا إلى قاعدة البيانات من خلال خدمة الويب.

 

قبل إدخال الرموز ، دعنا نضيف مكتبتين للعمل مع خدمات الويب. المكتبتان اللتان سنستخدمهما مأخوذة من واجهة برمجة تطبيقات Jersey 1.18. لإضافتهم إلى المشروع ، بعد التنزيل ، ما عليك سوى نسخهم إلى مجلد المشروع والنقر بزر الماوس الأيمن على اسم المشروع واختيار الخصائص.

 

ضمن نافذة "الخصائص" ، حدد خيار "Java Build Path" ثم "Libraries". ثم انقر فوق "إضافة جرة خارجية".

 

الآن بعد أن أضفنا واجهة برمجة تطبيقات جيرسي إلى مشروعنا ، يمكننا البرمجة قليلاً.

 

في هذا المقتطف الأولي للشفرة ، نقوم فقط بإنشاء عميل URL. في السطور الأولى (3 و 4) ، لدينا الاستيراد لاستخدام أساليب "جيرسي". مكتبة. في السطر 9 و 10 ، نقوم بإنشاء كائن للاتصال بعنوان URL لخدمة الويب. لاحظ أن عنوان url الخاص بخدمة الويب يتكون من الاسم الكامل لحساب OpenShift الخاص بنا إلى جانب كلمة rest and post ، مما يشير إلى أن خدمة الويب لها موقع للطرق ، يُسمى rest وطريقة تسمى post. بعد ذلك ، دعنا ننشئ بعض المعلومات لإرسالها إلى قاعدة البيانات

 

الغرض من مقتطف الشفرة المقدم في هذه القائمة هو تجميع سلسلة من الأحرف تتوافق مع معيار JSON لإرسالها إلى قاعدة بيانات MongoDB. أخيرًا ، سيتم إرسال الملف إلى الخادم. الآن دعنا ننتقل إلى مقتطف الشفرة الأخير لمشروع Java.

 

سيحتاج مقتطف الشفرة هذا إلى استيراد آخر لمشروعنا.

 

الإرسال إلى السحابة

 

يمكننا الآن إرسال خدمة الويب الخاصة بنا إلى OpenShift. ضمن Eclipse ، اختر منظور JBoss وانقر فوق OpenShift Application.

 

سيتم طلب بيانات اعتماد الحساب (البريد الإلكتروني وكلمة المرور) المحددة في التسجيل. فقط أدخل تفاصيل حسابك وانقر على "التالي". في المرة الأولى التي تتصل فيها ، يُطلب منك إنشاء مفاتيح SSH.

 

يجب أن نتحقق من الخيار & ldquo ؛ استخدم التطبيق الموجود & rdquo ؛. بتحديد هذا الخيار ، سيتم عرض شاشة اختيار التطبيق الذي تم إنشاؤه مسبقًا. اختر التطبيق وانقر على "التالي".

 

في الشاشة التالية ، سيتم سؤالك عما إذا كنا نريد إنشاء مشروع لإرساله إلى خادمنا أو استخدام مشروع موجود. سنستخدم مشروعًا قائمًا ، في هذه الحالة ، خدمة الويب المطورة حديثًا. للقيام بذلك ، قم بإلغاء تحديد الخيار & ldquo ؛ إنشاء مشروع جديد & rdquo ؛ انقر فوق & ldquo ؛ استكشف & rdquo ؛ واختر مشروع jboss-as-helloworld-rs.

 

أكمل العملية. سيُطلب منك تأكيد استخدام مفتاح SSH ، انقر فوق & ldquo ؛ نعم & rdquo ؛. مرة أخرى "نعم" لتأكيد إرسال خدمة الويب. بعد هذه الخطوة ، يمكننا نشر خدمة الويب الخاصة بنا. للقيام بذلك ، انتقل إلى Eclipse وافتح علامة التبويب "Servers" ، وانقر لتوسيع علامة تبويب الخادم ، في هذه الحالة "mongodb at OpenShift". سيظهر اسم خدمة الويب الخاصة بنا jboss-as-helloworld-rs ، انقر بزر الماوس الأيمن فوقه واختر الخيار & ldquo ؛ Full Publication & rdquo ؛ أو "نشر كامل".

 

تحقق مما إذا كان التطبيق قد تم إنشاؤه بالفعل على خادم OpenShift. للقيام بذلك ، انتقل إلى المتصفح وقم بالوصول إلى حساب OpenShift الخاص بك على & ldquo ؛ التطبيقات & rdquo ؛ علامة التبويب وانقر فوق التطبيق. في المثال الموجود في هذا البرنامج التعليمي ، & ldquo ؛ mongodb & rdquo ؛ وتأكد من أنه تم بناؤه بالفعل.

 

إذا استغرق الأمر وقتًا طويلاً (أكثر من ثلاث دقائق) ، فقد يكون من الضروري إعادة تشغيل التطبيق. للقيام بذلك ، استخدم الرمز المقابل الموجود على يمين الشاشة.

 

الاختبارات النهائية

 

الآن بعد أن أصبح لدينا خادم مع MongoDB تحت تصرفنا ، ومشروع لإرسال البيانات إلى الخادم ، وخدمة ويب لتجميع الاثنين معًا ، يمكننا البدء في الاختبار.

 

حليف مهم للتحقق من الأداء هو Rock Mongo. يمكن تنشيطه في OpenShift بكل بساطة ، فقط انقر فوق & ldquo ؛ أضف Rock Mongo 1.1 & rdquo ؛ في & ldquo ؛ التطبيق s & rdquo ؛ التبويب.

 

ميزة أخرى مهمة هي & ldquo ؛ ملفات الذيل & rdquo ؛ والتي يمكن تنشيطها على وحدة التحكم. انتقل إلى وحدة تحكم Eclipse وانقر فوق OpenShift Explorer ، وقم بتوسيع جميع الخيارات حتى تصل إلى التطبيق ، في حالتنا & ldquo ؛ mongodb & ردقوو ؛. انقر بزر الماوس الأيمن واختر & ldquo ؛ ملفات الذيل & rdquo ؛ اختيار.

MongoDB

MongoDB has become popular both in academia and professionally. The use of this database system makes it possible to store unstructured data in a very simple way. Generally, this type of database must be located in an easily accessible environment.
For the full article on MongoDB ...

Show Filter
Hosting Filters
Host Me Host Filter

Operation System

Disk Space

RAM Memory

Disk Type

CPU Cores

Sort

Trust Pilot Dream VPS
Score - 8.6
Dream VPS Logo
Dream VPS
STARTER
$3.75 /Monthly

Reviews 7


Server Locations


Dream VPS Servers in Hong KongHong Kong Dream VPS Servers in Santa Clara Dream VPS Servers in New YorkUnited States Dream VPS Servers in LondonUnited Kingdom Dream VPS Servers in AmsterdamNetherlands Dream VPS Servers in FrankfurtGermany Dream VPS Servers in IsraelIsrael
Compare
Score - 0
Heroku Logo
Heroku
Hobby
$7 /Monthly


Server Locations


Heroku Servers in United StatesUnited States
Compare
Score - 0
Infra Networking Logo
Infra Networking
ALFA
$4.19 /Monthly


Server Locations


Infra Networking Servers in JakartaIndonesia Infra Networking Servers in DallasUnited States Infra Networking Servers in DublinIreland Infra Networking Servers in LondonUnited Kingdom Infra Networking Servers in Frankfurt am MainGermany Infra Networking Servers in SingaporeSingapore Infra Networking Servers in AmsterdamNetherlands Infra Networking Servers in UruguayUruguay
Compare

Hosting MongoDB databases

 

MongoDB

 

In recent years, MongoDB has become popular both in academia and professionally. The use of this database system makes it possible to store unstructured data in a very simple way.

 

Generally, this type of database must be located in an easily accessible environment, as applications that use this database generally need to do so in physically distant locations. Given this need, this article presents a way to store and perform basic operations in MongoDB using a web hosting service. The discussion of this topic is useful for those who want to know how to create and manage MongoDB databases in the cloud. In order to offer solutions for managing this type of database, the article also indicates graphical tools for its administration. Throughout the article, emphasis will be placed on technologies for developing web applications using the Java programming language.

 

To access the database, a web service will be developed, which will be hosted on a free host. To test the service, a console application in Java language will be developed. Finally, the article shows you how to test and monitor the MongoDB web service and database.

 

The term NoSQL means Not Only SQL, that is, not only SQL. Other meanings were initially proposed, but the most adopted by the community was this. NoSQL databases emerged to facilitate the storage and processing of data in large volumes, offering a structure that allows high scalability.

 

There are currently around 150 different NoSQL databases. MongoDB has been gaining new followers due to its vast documentation and involved community.

 

The MongoDB movement started in early 2009 and since then more features and features have been added to MongoDB, such as support without schema, easy replication, simple API, drivers for different languages, manipulation tools, function updates, and much more.

 

The NoSQL database group consists of application-oriented databases that manage large volumes of data, adopt scalability features, REST protocol, MapReduce (read BOX 1 ), and other high-performance features.

 

BOX 1: MapReduce

 

MapReduce is a programming model introduced by Google with the objective of supporting parallel processing on data sets spread over several computers (cluster). The operation of this model is based on two features: map and reduce. In order to carry out search consolidations whose data is clustered, the requester sends his search to several computers simultaneously.

 

At this moment, the mapping (map) is made between the requester and the cluster, then the data resulting from the search are grouped (reduce) generating the search result to be delivered to the requester.

 

The acronym REST stands for Representational state transfer. It is a technique widely used in distributed data manipulation (CRUD) systems using only HTTP calls. This type of call simplifies programming, abstracting low-level tasks to the programmer, enabling the implementation of different routines in web services. The calls made are basically for data insertion (POST), data query (GET), data update (PUT), and data deletion (DELETE).

 

MongoDB

 

The first thing to think about when starting with NoSQL is comparative. As we could not fail to talk, we go to the comparison of the main terms in relation to relational banks.

In MongoDB, each document can be completely distinct from another document in the same collection, which is not true in the relational model. Usually, the data is written in BSON (Binary JSON) format.

 

To follow the steps presented in the next section, it is not necessary to have MongoDB installed on the local computer.

 

Installation on the local computer is only for the purpose of faster and simpler testing. If the reader wants to install MongoDB on his computer and manipulate it, here are some initial commands that can be useful. To run the service (daemon), you must consider the following command:/mongo. With the service running, we can start the command interpreter:/mongo, the basic commands for listing databases are: show DBS or show databases. To choose a database use (if it does not exist, the database will be created sqlMagazine): use sqlMagazine it is important to be aware of the fact that upper and lower case letters are different, be careful with this detail.

 

MongoDB Tools

 

After so many commands, we already have a base to move forward. Knowing the commands is essential to develop applications, however, for administration, there are other graphical tools that are good allies. For example, Figures 1 and 2 were captured from the MongoHub software.

 

There are other tools to access MongoDB, such as RockMongo and MongoVUE. The RockMongo tool needs other services ( PHP and Apache), in addition to activating the MongoDB module in the PHP configuration. This tool is adopted as a standard in OpenShift, so it is good to have a knowledge of it.

 

The MongoVUE tool is only for computers with Microsoft Windows operating systems. It offers good features. 

 

For Apple operating system users (Mac OS 10.6.x or higher), there is the MongoHub tool. Although there is a specific website for this tool. 

 

Creating an account to host the application

 

The objective is to make the database available on the web and enable access to it by an application that is also on the web or by an application that is installed on another computer. The service chosen for hosting the database was OpenShift. In this, the user can create up to three applications and in each of them, it is possible to create several services, such as Java, PHP, Phyton, Ruby applications, among others.

 

If you want to create more applications on the same account or even hire other services and scalability resources, you must create a paid account. OpenShift offers a platform as a service, identified by the acronym PaaS. Let's go through the necessary steps to create an account.

 

Initially, the user must go to the OpenShift port address: and choose the option. The registration screen will appear, as shown in Figure.

 

mongodb

 

Just enter the data and click on “Sign Up”. An email will be sent to confirm the registration, it is necessary to click on the link in this email to activate the registration and be a to create the applications.

 

When accessing your OpenShift account, it is possible to create the desired services, instructions are also offered to access applications by command line, use the JBoss Developer Studio IDE, and a multitude of other resources. In order to facilitate this step by step, we will create the application automatically after having developed it locally.

Some settings must be made in our OpenShift account. After accessing the account, we must go to the “Settings” section, as shown in Figure.

 

mongodb

 

In the text box “Domain name” we must type the name of the desired domain, in this test we type “SQL magazine”. This name (maximum number of characters is 16) is free to choose, however, it is important because it will be used in our Java project. Then click on the “Save” option.

 

After completing this step, we can return to the “Applications” tab and click on the “Create your first application now” option. A list will appear with various services that we can create. Let's choose “JBoss Application Server 7”. Then the window for choosing the application name is displayed

 

This name is also free to choose, however it should be an easy name to remember, as we will need it right away. For this test, we type “MongoDB”.

 

The next step is to click on “Create Application”. This process can take a few seconds or even minutes, wait until the process is complete. Now we can return to the “Applications” tab and click on the created application.

 

At this point, we are going to add MongoDB to our application. To do this, just click on the application, in this example “mongodb” and then click on “Add MongoDB 2.4”,. If you open a window with information and instructions, the link “Continue to the application overview page” will be displayed, which must be clicked, then it will be possible to click on “Add MongoDB 2.4”.

 

Then click on “Add Cartridge”. This process can also take a few seconds. A screen will then appear with important information to access the database, it is important to record this information as it will be used in the next steps. The information is username, password, and database name.

 

At this moment we already have a server (JBoss Application Server) at our disposal and a NoSQL database (MongoDB). Now just create a web service to access this bank and a project to access this web service.

 

Application development

 

Basically, we will have two applications and a database. The first application will be responsible for making requests for the database. This application will serve as a very simple example, just to test the functioning of the web service. The second application (web service) will be responsible for receiving requests from the first and accessing the database.

 

Let's go to the first application. Its prerequisites are Eclipse Kepler and two API libraries (Application Program Interface) Jersey (jersey-client and jersey-core). In order to facilitate and simplify the step-by-step described here, we will make a Java application in Eclipse Kepler.

 

The images to illustrate the step by step were obtained using the Mac OS 10.9.3 operating system, however, the reader can use Microsoft Windows or even a Linux distribution.

 

Within Eclipse access: File, New, Project. In the next window choose “Java Project” and click “Next”. Then, enter a name for the project, and choose the option “Finish”.

Now we need to create a class in the project. To do this, just right click on “src”, “New”, “Class”.

 

On the next screen, we must type a name for the class and check the option “Create the main method” “public static void main (String [] args)”, and click on “Finish”,

This Java project aims to record information in a MongoDB database that will be hosted on the web. The type of hosting used allows external access to the database, that is, applications from anywhere can access the database server, however, it is necessary to redirect ports on the local machine.

 

As this can become a very complex thing to do when it comes to computers out of our control or even computers that need to continue to access local ports, or even when it comes to mobile devices, port redirection is not the best way. In this way, our Java project will access the database through a web service.

 

Before entering the codes, let's add two libraries to work with web services. The two libraries that we will use are from the Jersey 1.18 API. To add them to the project, after downloading, just copy them to the project folder and right-click on the project name, and choose properties.

 

Within the "Properties" window, select the "Java Build Path" option and then "Libraries". Then click on “Add External Jar”. 

 

Now that we have the Jersey API added to our project, we can code a little bit.

 

In this initial snippet of code, we are just creating a URL client. In the first lines (3 and 4) we have the import to use the methods of the “Jersey” library. In lines 9 and 10 we are creating an object to connect to the web service URL. Note that the web service url is made up of the full name of our OpenShift account along with the word rest and post, indicating that the web service has a location for the methods, called rest and a method called a post. Next, let's create some information to send to the database

 

The purpose of the code snippet presented in this listing is to assemble a string of characters obeying the JSON standard to be sent to the MongoDB database. Finally, the file to be sent to the server. Now let's go to the last code snippet of the Java project.

 

This code snippet will need another import for our project.

 

Sending to the cloud

 

We can now send our web service to OpenShift. Within Eclipse choose the JBoss perspective and click on OpenShift Application.

 

Account credentials (email and password) defined in the registration will be requested. Just enter your account details and click "Next". The first time you connect, you are asked to create SSH Keys.

 

we must check the option “ Use existing application ”. By checking this option, the screen to choose the application created previously will be displayed. Choose the application and click " Next ".

 

On the next screen, you will be asked if we want to create a project to send to our server or use an existing project. We will use an existing project, in this case, our newly developed web service. To do this, deselect the option “ Create new project ”, click on “ Explore ” and choose the jboss-as-helloworld-rs project.

 

Finalize the process. You will be asked for confirmation to use the SSH key, click “Yes”. Again “Yes” to confirm the sending of the web service. After this step, we can publish our web service. To do this, go to Eclipse and open the "Servers" tab, click to expand the server tab, in this case "mongodb at OpenShift". The name of our web service jboss-as-helloworld-rs will appear, right-click on it and choose the option “Full Publication ” or “Full Publish”.

 

Check if the application has already been built on the OpenShift server. To do this, go to the browser and access your OpenShift account on the “Applications” tab and click on the application. In the example in this tutorial, “mongodb”, and confirm that it has already been built. 

 

If it takes too long (more than three minutes), it may be necessary to restart the application. To do this, use the corresponding icon to the right of the screen.

 

Final tests

 

Now that we have a server with MongoDB at our disposal, a project to send data to the server, and a web service to bring the two together, we can start testing.

 

An important ally to check the functioning is Rock Mongo. It can be activated in OpenShift very simply, just click on “ Add Rock Mongo 1.1 ” in the “ Application s” tab. 

 

Another important feature is the “Tail files”, which can be activated on the console. Navigate to the Eclipse console and click on OpenShift Explorer, expand all options until you reach the application, in our case “ mongodb ”. Right-click and choose the “ Tail files ” option.