Blue Host Full Review


Blue Host Details

Why Choose Blue Host?

  • Multi Payment Options - 4

Blue Host Server Locations

Blue Host Servers in ProvoProvo Blue Host Logo
Domains
.COM
$12.22 /Yearly
10.87
Full Details
Shared Hosting
Basic
$4.03 /Monthly
3.58
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • DISK
    50GB SSD Space
  • DATA
    Unmetered Bandwidth
  • Panels
    CPanel
Shared Hosting
Plus
$6.07 /Monthly
5.4
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • DISK
    Unlimited SSD Space
  • DATA
    Unmetered Bandwidth
  • Panels
    CPanel
Shared Hosting
Choice Plus
$7.08 /Monthly
6.3
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • DISK
    Unlimited SSD Space
  • DATA
    Unmetered Bandwidth
  • Panels
    CPanel
Shared Hosting
Pro
$14.22 /Monthly
12.65
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • DISK
    Unlimited SSD Space
  • DATA
    Unmetered Bandwidth
  • Panels
    CPanel
Dedicated Server
Standard
$81.57 /Monthly
72.54
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • CPU
    4 Cores
  • RAM
    4GB Memory
  • DISK
    500GB Space
  • DATA
    5TB Bandwidth
  • Dedicated IPS
    3
  • Panels
    [In-house]
Dedicated Server
Enhanced
$101.97 /Monthly
90.68
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • CPU
    4 Cores
  • RAM
    8GB Memory
  • DISK
    1TB Space
  • DATA
    10TB Bandwidth
  • Dedicated IPS
    4
  • Panels
    [In-house]
Dedicated Server
Premium
$122.37 /Monthly
108.82
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • CPU
    4 Cores
  • RAM
    16GB Memory
  • DISK
    1TB Space
  • DATA
    15TB Bandwidth
  • Dedicated IPS
    5
  • Panels
    [In-house]
Managed
Build
$20.34 /Monthly
18.09
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • DISK
    Unlimited SSD Space
  • DATA
    Unmetered Bandwidth
  • Panels
    CPanel
Managed
Grow
$30.54 /Monthly
27.16
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • DISK
    Unlimited SSD Space
  • DATA
    Unmetered Bandwidth
  • Panels
    CPanel
Managed
Scale
$50.94 /Monthly
45.3
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • DISK
    Unlimited SSD Space
  • DATA
    Unmetered Bandwidth
  • Panels
    CPanel
VPS
Standard
$20.39 /Monthly
18.13
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • CPU
    2 Cores
  • RAM
    2GB Memory
  • DISK
    30GB SSD Space
  • DATA
    1TB Bandwidth
  • Dedicated IPS
    1
  • Panels
    [In-house]
VPS
Enhanced
$30.59 /Monthly
27.2
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • CPU
    2 Cores
  • RAM
    4GB Memory
  • DISK
    60GB SSD Space
  • DATA
    2TB Bandwidth
  • Dedicated IPS
    2
  • Panels
    [In-house]
VPS
Ultimate
$61.18 /Monthly
54.41
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • CPU
    4 Cores
  • RAM
    8GB Memory
  • DISK
    120GB SSD Space
  • DATA
    3TB Bandwidth
  • Dedicated IPS
    2
  • Panels
    [In-house]

Blue Host Hosting Review 2021

BlueHost Expert Review

After over 20 years in the business BlueHost has become an industry heavyweight, and its services have made it a WordPress-recommended hosting provider. Even starter accounts provided access to many tools and features, making it easy to create and maintain websites.

The host also offers a wide range of advanced features that allow us to easily create complicated backend configurations. BlueHost's uptimes, load times and reliability impressed us. This is important for small businesses who are starting to establish their brands and need reliable hosting.

BlueHost was subject to extensive testing as usual to see if its premium and basic products can deliver. To decide if BlueHost is right for you, take a look at the BlueHost Review.

Both the pros and cons

The pros:

  • You will experience higher load times, uptimes and minimal downtime.
  • You can access popular, free features even with the most basic account, as well as advanced developer tools.
  • BlueHost offers low fees at the lowest end of the market.
  • To get your Ecommerce solution or WordPress installed quickly, you can use a 1-Click installation.
  • You get unlimited bandwidth and almost unlimited storage.
  • It is easy to set up WordPress websites with rich tools and educational materials, as well as seamless integrations from third-party providers.
  • The intuitive user interface and drag-and drop website builder are a great benefit for beginners.

Cons

  • During peak times, customer service may be slower.
  • BlueHost's load times are not as fast or consistent with industry standards.
  • You may be sold products that you don't need at the time of signing up.

Prices and payment methods

Depending on what you need, there are many BlueHost plans available. BlueHost shared hosting is available starting at $2.95 per month. It provides one website, unlimited bandwidth, and an SSL certificate. This package is ideal for small businesses that are just getting started with their websites. You can get similar features with the WordPress basic package for $3.95 per month. It also includes preinstallation of WordPress, a staging environment to allow you to test your changes and deploy them confidently.

Premium plans are our favorite in terms of price and value. Upgrade WordPress for $5.95 per month. This includes unlimited sites and unmetered SSD storage. VPS Mid-range, which costs $29.99 per month, offers 60GB SSD storage, 2 IP addresses, and is priced at $29.99. BlueHost's Premium Dedicated Hosting plan costs $119.99 per monthly. It is BlueHost’s most costly plan. Although it provides lightning speeds (3 Ghz) and secure storage, it is more suited to companies hosting multiple sites, which makes it less attractive for SMBs.

It was very easy to switch between plans, which is a great feature for smaller businesses with high aspirations.

It's easy to use

BlueHost is a flexible hosting provider that offers both advanced and beginner users different benefits. Weebly's drag-and-drop website creator is an advantage for those with little or no previous experience. Additionally, integrations are available for many useful tools that make it easy to quickly roll out. Website maintenance is simplified with the free SSL certificate and one-year domain.

BlueHost also offered advanced features that are useful for developers. We wanted to check this feature as well. We were able to customize our backend quickly and easily thanks to the wide range of programming languages, support and databases as well as free scripts and website scripts. These features are not necessary for beginners, but they can be a huge advantage to SMBs.

Load times and reliability

BlueHost does not advertise a fast loading time or reliable uptime. This surprised us. We tested BlueHost over several months in order to determine how those two aspects performed. BlueHost's uptime performance was excellent, with an average of 99.99% and very few service interruptions. BlueHost was not the fastest hosting platform, but still managed to be among the top five services in our testing.

These are the features

BlueHost's price is at the low end of web hosting, but it offers many features that can be customized to your site. Bluehost offers basic WordPress hosting that allows you to create a 6-page website without any fees. The Weebly plugin automatically updates the WordPress version so it runs safely and securely. You can also have daily backups of your website to prevent any major site disruptions.

The WP Pro account is for advanced WordPress users. It offers a simple dashboard that allows you to manage SEO and social media. The WooCommerce integration allows you to easily set up an online shop and manage it. Additionally, each plan comes with a free SSL that protects your customer information. There are four options for shopping cart integrations. The platform is highly secure, as we were pleased to see that it offers spam protection and 24-hour network monitoring.

We are always interested in more sophisticated features and BlueHost's extensive customization options for developers. The platform offers free website scripts, including social networking, Drupal, and Joomla. Unlimitted FTP accounts are available, along with an impressive collection of CGI tools and databases that includes MySQL, PHP 5, Ruby and Perl collections.

Customer Support

BlueHost's customer service was excellent. We were mostly satisfied. BlueHost offers a variety of contact options, such as email, phone, chat and 24/7 live chat. They also encourage their customers to use social media to communicate with them. Despite the fact that communication was not always easy, all of our agents were polite and willing to assist.

The amount of and depth of their resources to assist you with troubleshooting is impressive. We also found it easy to resolve issues on our own, with the assistance of documentation.

BlueHost User Reviews

BlueHost's expert review is based upon our technical expertise and uses specific metrics to assess how companies compare. For a complete picture of BlueHost, check out our BlueHost customer reviews.

Conclusion

Our BlueHost expert review concluded that BlueHost's services are suitable for both technical and experienced customers. Easy-to-use interfaces and embedded Weebly drag and drop website creation make it easy for beginners to set up websites quickly and effectively. Developers have advanced tools that allow them to modify the back-end and improve their website.

BlueHost offers reliable and fast web hosting. This affordable hosting option is a great choice for people with different levels of comfort and tech.

Blue Host Pricing

Domains
Package Price
.COM $12.22
Shared Hosting
Package Price Disk space Bandwidth Operation System Number of sites Panels
Basic $4.03
€ 7.25 after 36 mo.
SSD 50GB Unmetered linux server plane 1 CPanel
Plus $6.07
€ 9.97 after 36 mo.
SSD Unlimited Unmetered linux server plane Unlimited CPanel
Choice Plus $7.08
€ 13.59 after 36 mo.
SSD Unlimited Unmetered linux server plane Unlimited CPanel
Pro $14.22
€ 21.76 after 36 mo.
SSD Unlimited Unmetered linux server plane Unlimited CPanel
Dedicated Server
Package Price Disk space RAM Bandwidth Operation System Dedicated IPS Number of CPU Panels
Standard $81.57
€ 108.82 after 36 mo.
500GB 4GB 5TB linux server plane 3 4 [In-house]
Enhanced $101.97
€ 145.09 after 36 mo.
1TB 8GB 10TB linux server plane 4 4 [In-house]
Premium $122.37
€ 190.44 after 36 mo.
1TB 16GB 15TB linux server plane 5 4 [In-house]
Managed
Package Price Disk space Bandwidth Operation System Number of sites Panels
Build $20.34
€ 27.20 after 36 mo.
SSD Unlimited Unmetered linux server plane Unlimited CPanel
Grow $30.54
€ 36.27 after 36 mo.
SSD Unlimited Unmetered linux server plane Unlimited CPanel
Scale $50.94
€ 54.41 after 36 mo.
SSD Unlimited Unmetered linux server plane Unlimited CPanel
VPS
Package Price Disk space RAM Bandwidth Operation System Dedicated IPS Number of CPU Panels
Standard $20.39
€ 27.20 after 36 mo.
SSD 30GB 2GB 1TB linux server plane 1 2 [In-house]
Enhanced $30.59
€ 54.41 after 36 mo.
SSD 60GB 4GB 2TB linux server plane 2 2 [In-house]
Ultimate $61.18
€ 108.82 after 36 mo.
SSD 120GB 8GB 3TB linux server plane 2 4 [In-house]

Multiple Payment Types

Different customers like to pay in different ways, and Blue Host lets you embrace them all


Blue Host - credit
Blue Host - MasterCard
Blue Host - debit
Blue Host - prepaid cards
Blue Host - paypal

Blue Host Few Words

Blue Host: 61 customer reviews, 17 support responses, 2 testimonials, 14 products, 0 promotions, 4 socials, 2230550 domains, 3074921 hosted, since 2005

61 Comments

Jennifer

Feb 16, 2008 03:16
I've needed to call in multiple times to be able to sign in just to upload things. Sometimes the via-the-cpanel sign in will work, sometimes it won't work, and calling in gets several different answers and I've had it happen where they end up saying they don't know. I've talked to others who've had the same sign-in trouble so it's not just me.

It's hard for me to get past not being able to sign in easily... so unfortunately I need to hunt for a different host I hate to say it; I hate the hassle of moving!

david t

Mar 12, 2008 08:43
I am reasonably happy with Bluehost. I have several accounts and domains with them.
Customer service is good - they answer at least and you can get to speak to someone. May not be able to help though.

The email seems to be unreachable sometimes - very frustrating, maybe they do software upgrades/maintenance in the middle of the night - which is the middle of my day!

Facilities and tools with Control Panel are good.

Alex Crooks

May 11, 2008 07:49
I've been using Bluehost for two years and I'm happy to say that they're my favorite hosting company.

Not once have I noticed any downtime and whenever I've had a problem, their customer service replied very quickly (within 24 hours).

That and the cheap prices make it amazing.

Bryan

Jun 06, 2008 10:14
We've been with Bluehost for over a year now, and I've had accounts with them dating back 3 years. At first Bluehost was a fairly responsive and quality host, however those days are long gone. As it began to grow it fell apart? Especially in customer service, which Bluehost fails so miserably at, they don't even have a customer service department. You end up dealing with their hit or miss tech support or sales, which love you when you sign up, see you as a burden there after. They're the kind of company that leaves you for 30 minutes on hold if you call looking for someone to talk to that even remotely cares that their mistakes and poor management cost you money. Particular mistakes include unannounced changes to the backend hosting software which rendered the site unusable for over a w...

Max Elliot

Dec 11, 2008 06:38
I've read through some of the remarks left here and having worked for hosting companies I've got to say that some people are giving Bluehost an undue negative rap. Things like advertised uptime are, in fact, referring to overall network uptime, not individual servers. Issues with receiving full refunds are unreasonable. It doesn't matter if you've been hosting a month or a year, if you've hosted, you've received service.

I've been with Bluehost for years and have never had any reason to complain. As a matter-of-fact, working for hosting companies in the past I can say that Bluehost's service and business practices are top notch. I'd recommend Bluehost in a heartbeat...I often do.

pragma5.net

Jan 28, 2009 01:00
They can disable hosting in any moment without any notice.

Just send a message:
"WEB HOSTING ACCOUNT DEACTIVATED

I don't know any other reasons than the one noted above, but the president has made a note that you need to find a different hosting company!!!

Is it a reliable company???

Rob McDonell

Feb 17, 2009 02:41
I've used BlueHost for years, and generally been satisfied until recently. Several times now they've deactivated my account without warning because of CPU usage by my database. The trouble is they give absolutely no warning and no second chance , they just shut you down completely. You can't even FTP in to see what happened or look at the logs or anything. Most unsatisfactory.

Crazy Penguin

Jan 16, 2008 11:08
I had nothing but problems with Bluehost. Excessive downtime, email doesn't work, and you can't even run programs like Wordpress or phpBB forum without gettng cpu overload errors shutting down your site for five minutes each time it happens. Bluehost crams way too many accounts on one server. Webpages load very sssllllooooowwwwwwww.
Out of the 20+ hostng companies I have used, Bluehost is the very worst one. Bluehost isn't just terrible, they are extremely terrible. Avoid Bluehost at all costs.

Read more here: http://www.inetintegrity.com

Jason

Apr 08, 2009 12:17
Terrible. Shared web hosting was slow with frequent downtime. Canceling your account is a cat and mouse game and nearly impossible to find the correct link. After canceling my account, it took 5 months for them to stop try to charge my bank for hosting that I canceled awhile ago. I had to display the e-mail that I sent and the correspondence with a sales/support rep that had told me it was canceled. After threatening BBB contact if they did not cease and desist, they quit their e-mails and charges.

Be weary of these cheap hosts for they are just that.

Don Freeman

Apr 25, 2009 12:57
I would not recommend bluehost. Our forum on our website, which sees little to no use, got hacked by a spammer. This was a free program provided by bluehost to it's customers, PHP BB3. I was told after our forums got hacked by spambots, that I would have to find another webhost, no if's and's or but's about it. I removed the forums from our site, and they still refused to allow me to have my website hosted there. This is / was a simple website for a group of guys that play a golf game online versus one another. Nothing space consuming, high usage or anything of that sorts. Anyhow, I wouldn't recommend a website from these people if they were the last host available.

Shane

May 06, 2009 12:01
Stay away from BH. Unlimited does NOT mean unlimited.

I was with them just over 1 year. I had 5 personal/family domains (photos and blogs) and one not-for-profit domain. Minimal bandwidth on all of them, but considerable amounts of disk space due mostly to 4 Gallery2 installs. But, that's ok, they say unlimited storage right! Wrong! My account was disabled due to some misunderstanding. Fair enough, but in the process of diagnosing the cause for the disable, I was informed that they were days away from imposing a 50k file number limit. WHAT!! I'm over 200k easy, again due to a large photo collection. Now, I'm freaking out, and scrambling to find someone who will not lock my account for having lots of photos. Thanks for the heads up BH! Unlimited My Ass! They hide beh...

Heather

May 08, 2009 02:55
Experienced massive dataloss on work that took me weeks to complete. Bluehost representatives (grunts as well as supervisors) treated me like absolute garbage after losing weeks of my hard work. I simply asked for them to submit something to me in writing, or to somehow give me some proof of a hardware failure that I could present to my superiors to explain why my work had suddenly gone missing. I was spoken to informally, disrespectfully, and was told that it was my fault for hosting my data on "a volatile shared server" when referring to their own service.

After submitting a letter to them about the poor treatment I received (after actually being very nice to them), my account was suspended.

This was over two months ago, and my account is still suspended for n...

Tommie Allison

Feb 09, 2009 02:41
Love the tech support, friendly customer service and all the features in the Control panel. Cost is great, no problems in setup. Great hosting service.

Tran Spospec

Nov 24, 2007 03:20
First of all, there is no such thing as a "perfect" web hosting provider. However, Blue Host comes very close to perfection.

I have used about 7 others in the past 5 years, and none compares in overall performance, quality and satisfaction. My previous was iPowerweb, which is also good, but not quite as good as Blue Host.

Currently I am hosting 3 domains with Blue Host, and I recommend them very highly to others I know who are searching for a reliable provider.

Their customer support team is about the most pleasant and informed as can be expected. I've only had one problem, and they were quick to respond and help me resolve the issue. There has never been any unreasonable downtime experiences.

In summary, Blue Host is a top notch company, with just ...

Jullian

Oct 01, 2007 02:32
I still do not know why does this bluehost ,
it is the first time to deal with a professional place that uses luck in their business, it is i needed to change something called cname for one of my domain names ad during my conversation with one of the cs agents he mentioned it will take only 2 hours the i tried to change the cname of another subdomain and the reply again was it will take from 24-72 hours and when i told the new cs agent, how is this last time it took only 2 hours he replied may b last time it was luck that it was done only in 2 hours

i cant imagine that a big hosting company works with cs fortune tellers who are aware that the task will be made in 2 hours then the prophecy comes true because of the luck of the user it is really new concept in dealing with e b...

Joshua Henry

Jun 16, 2009 09:04
Blue Host is great for shared hosting!

Their support and features is great for early starters. However when its time to upgrade, its time to move on.

I've moved to Accurate Hub Networks with my VPS and how just recently upgraded to a physical server.

John Quinlan

May 31, 2007 09:15
I have been using Bluehost for over three years and have only ever had one problem when one of their servers blew up, all of my data was migated to another within 8 hours.

I have no problem recommending them to my clients and have had not one complaint from them either.

PS I do not work for them or have any relationship with them at all other than being a customer. When I saw this site I felt compelled to write this glowing report as the other tossers out there such as ipowerweb etc are so terrible that when a company does something well, I feel that it ought to be recognised.

Manuel

Feb 13, 2007 05:13
Simply the best. After having tried with two duds and found this amazing hosting company. Absolutely no complains. Unbelievable customer support. Courteous and fast, even at 2:00AM. Lots of space for low $$. How can they do it? You will feel right at home 10 minutes after you subscribe when their first e-mail arrive.

Chris

Jan 26, 2007 12:16
Bluehost has much to offer at a really good price but be prepared for alot of downtime, short episodes but frequent. Also, I had a bad experience where the sites I host with Bluehost became completely unavailable. When I called their support team, they told me that my ISP blocked their IP. WHAT THE ?!#% At this point all of my clients' sites were down and my company also. I had to call my ISP and hold forever on the phone and it took hours before I could resolve the issue. Now, although this problem was not directly Bluehost's fault, after 2 hours, I am still waiting for this problem to be resolved while other companies I host with are uneffected. Is all this headache worth the great deal?

Shikar

Jan 22, 2007 01:58
Bluehost used to be good. Good price and quality. But it looks like now we (the customers) are the victim of their succes. They are not able to handle all the new customers and now the uptime is terrible. Every day I experience that my sites are unavailable for some time. And all the tickets I send in do not help. They just reply that all seems to be ok now. Since the reply takes a few days, most of the time I get the reply my site is up again but the uptime is more like 70-80% than the 99.9% they claim to deliver. So I am looking for a better service provider.

ssddrr

Dec 17, 2006 02:28
This review is as a new Bluehost customer. I've had trouble uploading my website which is to be expected when changing host companies. The problem, though, is that I've had six email exchanges and two phone calls with BlueHost's tech support and each tech support person gives me a totally different reason and solution for the problem. It looks like the problem is finally solved after the eight contact.

I changed to Bluehost from Dreamhost because it was less expensive, but with Dreamhost tech support was right on target the first time I had a problem rather than the eight time. Kind of wish I'd stayed with Dreamhost even though it's more expensive.

Christina Arasmo

Oct 28, 2006 09:22
This is the very best host there is. Period.

The service is awesome, the array of features is astounding, the price is low. Wow!

They host Ruby on Rails!!!!

6 add ons for free! Amazing!

They tech guys are US based. 24/7 phone support. Ticket system is organized. Man o man!

Adam

Oct 05, 2006 08:22
Bluehost is a scam and a fraud...

Boy do I have a nightmare story to tell you, a couple of months ago I was looking for website builder to build a website dedicated to my family I and stumbled upon one called bluevoda, it was a free download, so I naturally took advantage of the offer. Over the course of the next few weeks I proceeded to build my website with this bluevoda and I eventually got pretty good at it. Then I discovered to my novice surprise that I needed something called web hosting. I went to Google and typed in bluevoda and very pleasantly the first thing that came up was a advertisement that said bluevoda web hosting by a company called bluehost, I then proceeded t go to the bluehost site to purchase my web hosting. (this is the very first time I ever purchased any...

Simon

Aug 30, 2006 12:06
Bluehost has had numerous issues with there servers/boxes having too many accounts. This causes overload of processes which effects emails, speed, and all control panel usages. Their tools such as SSH is good and all other tools are standard. But if they could figure out a way to lessen the amount of account to one box, this would put there hosting service at the top.

Everyday their servers are overloading during peak hours. The community is starting to be aware of this issue but no action has been put into effect to remedy this by Bluehost.com. I give them a 2 rather than a 1 only because they offer SSH.

andrew

Aug 23, 2006 09:26
Long Story Short: Bluehost sucks.
As you can tell from the chat transcript I was trying to be as nice as possible for 2 reasons. I wanted a full refund, and the guy is just a peon in the company.

Richie: Welcome to our real-time support area, my name is Richie, how can I help you today?
andrew: Hi Richie, I need to cancel my account and get a refund. I should be entitled to a full refund seeing as how I did not recieve the service advertised as 99.9% uptime, my domain is ********.
andrew: Unfortunately it was much much lower than that. I’ve had serious downtime these past 2 and a half months and it just isn’t acceptable.
Richie: i apologize for that. If your account is under 30 days then we do offer a full refund… after 30 days is a prorated refund
andrew: What abo...

angry website owner

Aug 15, 2006 06:44
31 hours of down time for 865 websites, including mine on august 14-15th 2006. After multiple calls, emails, and posts on their forums (which they deleted, but I took screen shots of all my posts) They finally get the site back up. They advertise 99.9% uptime, but cannot offer it. The customer service was horrible, and I wish I never transfered my hosting to them. Needless to say, I switched and I am just waiting on the nameserver transfer to be completed. Customer service left a nice note saying "if your not happy with the service, leave." Customer service? they advertice "dependable service" and "bluehost specializes in customer
satisfaction"
Um, i'm NOT satisfied at ALL. I read great reviews and that's why I switched, now I'm moving AWAY from bad b...

sondra jordan

Apr 23, 2006 08:39
One of the problems I have with Blue Host is although they don't offer web design services, they still provide names of staff in their company who purport to be web designers - which ofcourse they're not. Or atleast the one i had experience with does not. He was totally clueless about the basics of web design and wasted my money and time for all of four weeks. I say that goes to the responsibility of Blue Host. Since they provide the names, they should take some liability for the results.

Ian Bamforth

Aug 05, 2005 10:34
Bluehost provide a fairly good package - providing almost everything you need at a very reasonable price. BE VERY CAREFUL if you wanted spam filtering though - although they provide Spamassassin, they don't let you use sa-learn, so you can't really use it at all.
If you like thousands of spam emails, or don't intend using email at all, Bluehost may be right for you. They have an excellent selection of pre-installed tools for you, masses of disk-space, and the reliability has been good so far.

Blake

Nov 06, 2007 05:10
BlueHost is simply a great host.

I didn't know what to expect when I bought my hosting account (with my free domain!) until less then 2 hours later when my domain was already up.

I guess I am use to NameServer changes taking forever, at least with my last domain that was. BlueHost is a very easy host to use and their features are just as abundant as anyone elses.

Thanks Blue!

Rick

Jun 27, 2009 07:26
Bluehost has a much deserved reputation as a spam friendly host - they host literally dozens of scam sites, disguised to look likr government web sites and business opportunities, when in fact they are phishing and scam sites.

Can you trust a host like this with your domain? If you happen to be on a shared server that also hosts one (or more) of these scammer sites, and the scammer gets blocked - so do you! This means that your site is offline until the spammer / scammer is removed.

VICTIM OF BLUEHOST.COM

Mar 04, 2009 05:44
REPORT YOUR COMPLAINTS OF BLUEHOST AT THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU OF : saltlakecity.bbb.org/
I OBTAIN A 36 MONTH TERM PLAN, PAID $900 (ALSO OBTAINED AROUND 50 DOMAINS) WITHIN LESS THEN TWO MONTHS THEY CLOSE MY ACCOUNT, I ASK WHY, THEY SAID VIOLATION TO THEIR TOS, SUCH TOS I NEVER RECEIVED, BUT ONCE READ, THEIR WAS NO VIOLATION.
I SAID SEND ME THE INFORMATION THAT VIOLATED SUCH TOS, THEY REFUSE.
I FILED MY COMPLAINT WITH THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU.
ONCE I SEE THE INTERNET, BLUEHOST.COM IS A COMPANY THAT HAS LEFT A TRACE OF VICTIMS OF THEIR SERVICES. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY, HOSTGATOR ID A GREAT CHOICE, GO DADDY, STARLOGIC, BUT NEVER EVER ATTEMPT BLUEHOST.COM THEY ARE THIEVES.
BLUEHOST.COM IS THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER DONE BUSINESS WITH, BEWARE OF BLUEHOST.COM
THE...

Sep 09, 2009 05:23
Bluehost is best host firm in market.. CRM and their products are really amazing.. Price is very low. Related to the this price, all features are like free..

May 25, 2020 04:40
WordPress website is stable and smooth
Early last year I got a domain and hosting from BlueHost for my website which I wanted to start doing business with. Since my website talks about digital marketing and cool marketing products, I wanted to integrate e-commerce with it. With BlueHost, I could solve two problems at once (a good looking website with WordPress installed and a great VPS hosting deal). The e-Commerce integration helped me and if or when I have any problems, I use the chat feature to talk to their support which is available.

May 23, 2020 10:08
Finally got my WordPress site up
I have had a lovely experience with Bluehost. My home-made ingredients business needed a powerful website that could do the work visually, which is why I wanted it to be on WordPress. But if backed with equally powerful hosting, my site and business could do well digitally. Keeping that aim in mind, I chose Bluehost over others because of its pricing, great customer support and uptime.

May 17, 2020 04:48
Wanted to get a WordPress website in the best deal..for which was suggested BlueHost and I guess it turned out to be a successful decision. Uptime, bandwidth, speed is top-notch. As an emerging small business, giving a good experience on the website to customers for my men's grooming products was key and I guess the objective is met..

May 14, 2020 08:16
In all honesty, Bluhost helped me get my e-Commerce website up and running. As a hobbyist, I am into flowers and gardening. Since I write about different kinds of flowers, I also sell some items on the website.

With Bluehost I could manage to create a stellar Wordpress website that is giving my business the push that it deserves. Some of the themes are amazing and just go with my product catrgory so well. All this within my budget where I get good speed and also storage space..

Filip

Jan 31, 2020 06:36
This is very much an "economy" hosting platform which does the job for a very basic web site. If you have something small and simple then you can save yourself a lot of money and go with Bluehost. However, the moment you need advanced technical help or any additional features, get read for the nickel and diming to begin. I don't advise using them for anything sophisticated. Also, their tech support is hit or miss. Some people I've worked with were very good while others were lost!

Jul 05, 2018 02:47
I used this company to host a small business. I wanted to cancel the service after about 4 months due to my wife/business partner passing away and the business closing. When I contacted their customer service to close the account I was told I could not receive ANY refund. Ok, that's not good but fine. fast forward 6 months and I receive emails about auto renewal. So I contact them again to close the account so my credit card doesn't get charged again. This time the customer service rep says he can't refund the entire amount but can refund the unused portion. When I ask why I was told 6 months ago there would be no refund but now I'm being told I can get one; his reply was "last agent forgot on this process ". So, because of this lame excuse I'm now out $500. Wish I could tell ...

John Adams

Jul 04, 2009 09:42
Unfortunately, I have about 30 domains at Bluehost and about 10 sites. Bluehost is NOT the place to go for anyone with multiple domains.

The Bluehost "Abuse" department is run much like a totalitarian state. "there is no appeal" , "you must..or...", "we will terminate" ...

Most recently, UNLIMITED disk space? Ha. What they don't tell you is that you are limited to 50k files. Figure that one out and you'll see that unlimited does not mean unlimited. They then state (see other's comments below) that you can have files of any size but not more than 50k. But, surprise! If you take more disk space than they "allow" then they cut you off at the knees and you must purchase another account. OK, that's ok. But why not be upfront? Wh...

-hidden-

Jan 25, 2017 07:22
False Advertising and Misleading Contracts
Signed up for hosting/domain name. The home page said "5.45 PER MONTH for 36 months". When you go through signup process they give total amount but in parenthesis next to total it says " $5.45 per month." Then I get charged the entire amount immediately. When I called they tried to argue with me and said the total was there, but in several different places it clearly advertised a PER MONTH charge. They wouldn't honor their advertising/agreement. They allowed me to cancel but it's a great inconvenience and I overdrew my bank account-- got hit with bank fees for their mistake. Never using them again.

David Rich

Mar 10, 2014 05:46
They took a turn the wrong way
I've had multiple domains and websites with Bluehost for years. About two months ago, my hosting multiple websites with Bluehost began having major issues. The server the majority of my sites were on crashed, and they didn't know about it until I notified them. This took about 12 hours to restore, and upon completion, my main business website, www.InvestigativeTactics.net was not working. After 10 days of 2-hour-per-day phone calls, working hand-in-hand with Bluehost, I was able to get my site back to the status of two weeks before the crash. Keep in mind, this was done in conjunction with them; I had to fix their mistake on the public side of my site.

After all of th...

ivastoya

Mar 03, 2014 09:12
Terrible customer service!
Our website has pages indexed on Google with its temporary URL - IP/~user/ The support team assured me prior to the migration that no temporary URLs would be indexed in Google unless there are actually links with that temporary URL.

That being said, after my site migration my blog and forums were not working correctly for a couple of days. The support said this was because the DNS was not fully migrated yet. Anyway, I had a feeling that this had nothing to do with the DNS, so I started digging in the settings of my forum and blog. I was shocked to find out that my settings both for the forum and blog were modified from $settings['homeurl'] = "http://www.mysite.cm/forums&q...

torrezcomputer

Jun 29, 2013 08:55
best service and communication with clients
Best service so far, I transferred 15 domains, I keep a hosting plan, I had some technical questions, called and they even solved a database problem I had with my web site, in few, really few minutes. Their facebook, twitter, and youtube account shows that they really care about their clients. If you havent heard from them, see their activity online and see on your own eyes how good this people are. As a satisfied customer 100% recommended.

Mazyar Rahmaty

Mar 08, 2013 04:00
Very poor service
Website was down, it was expired after I renewed it, the customer service agent during renewal failed to provide the proper information to get it right.

gornahoor

Mar 04, 2013 03:41
Franz Kafka had a better experience
I have had a reasonable experience for the past 5 years running a Wordpress blog with bluehost, but I've since discovered they can be quite arbitrary and unresponsive.

Recently, they took my web site down for an alleged "terms of service" violation, displaying a nasty looking message to my visitors. The message tells me to long in "ASAP" to find out what the specific problem is. However, there is no answer available. I call the phone # just as they asked me to do, but the fellow who answered had no specific information.

I sent an email to the head of the TOS group, as was recommended to me; he responded that they are looking into it and will...

Thomas Hughes

Feb 15, 2013 10:42
Bad Experience
My ten year old child used my cc without my authorization to set up an acct on bluehost.com. I was charged $178. When I received my cc statement, I called to let them know what happened and asked to have the charge reversed. They wasted 15 minutes of my time telling me the hoops I’ll need to jump through to take care of it, and switching me to three different departments. I hung up and after another hour on the phone with my cc company and bluehost, got it taken care of.
If they’ll go to such ends to keep from having to credit a client who made a mistake (or who’s child opened an acct without asking dad!), I won’t use this company in the future and can’t recommend them.

Apr 17, 2017 09:56
Bluehost should be your No 1. choice
I have used Bluehost as web hosting in many of my other projects and have figured out them to be quite good.

Their servers are quite fast & their customer support is very responsive.

Bluehost should be your No 1. choice if you are looking for a good “Value for Money” Web Hosting Company.

Jul 20, 2012 06:22
Hidden fees!
I am very disappointed with this service. It promises to have no hidden fees, no cancellation fees, full refund, etc. 30 days etc.

But it is all a lie.

You purchase the domain outside of the company and if you do not cancel within three days (including weekends) you can never get that money back. When talking to customer service before buying the service it was explicitly said that there were no hidden fees, but then after I cancelled in three BUSINESS days they said I could not get refunded a percentage of my money.

I even spoke with a customer service person afterwards complaining about this shady aspect and he said "I can see that it is confusing, and a little mislead...

Riyaz

Jul 04, 2012 01:04
Bluehost - False Advertising
While their homepage states a list of the features provided by the hosting service, which includes SSL, they are forcing me to purchase a $49/year SSL plan.
They said it was not included for me because I had a standard account. When I asked them where I can find the features for the standard account, they asked me to click on the Features button from the home page. Here, SSL is checked, but according to Bluehost that doesn't necessarily mean that SSL is included. Meanwhile, Unlimited Domain Hosting has the same check mark, but is included.
Bluehost mislead me into believing that I could get a free SSL certificate with my account - a service that they claim they currently...

Michael Wells

Jan 22, 2011 09:41
Let me tell you about my experience with Bluehost; first of all, let me explain my "wants". I guess I'm like any one else, I want to upload mywebsites, get everything up and running and not have to worry about it until I have to pay the bill again. Simple, not to much to ask for right?

On Bluehost, my first 8 months was hassle free, a webmasters web dream. However after you have to pre-pay them for a year that 8th month was the difference between night and day. It started with random downtime, DNS errors, DNS entry deletions, server outages, (all within a month's time), and then an "upgrade" to the server (which was welcomed). Month 10, the downtime stopped but this month revealed why - As nearing the end of Month 10, my site becomes "temporarily unavaila...

Barney

Oct 06, 2010 12:12
My experience with Bluehost was very similar to the ones listed here. I placed my new website with them and soon after I got it up and running, I started having periods of downtime every day. Sometimes it was 10 minutes, other times it was over 1 hour. My site was developing a strong but small reader membership (over 300) when the site would go down. Not at all the type of service that I needed to promote my site.

I contacted Live Chat almost daily and was told that a “server upgrade” went badly. I asked to be moved to a different server and the request was denied. The last week that I had service with them I had daily downtime of at least 15 minutes. I chose to move to a different host and the change was has been amazing. Almost no down time and snappy responsiveness.
I have ...

Sep 05, 2010 06:21
often problems with access, email certificates, file limit as mentioned by others' will become a problem.

S Hammontree

Aug 23, 2010 06:58
I have a shared hosting plan. I am using MODx and Wordpress. My site is currently under constructions. BlueHost does many things right. I really like the cPanel and the customer service is good. I have no complaints about up-time. My site has never gone down.

However, there is one thing that is NOT GOOD. CPU Throttling. I have absolutely zero traffic on my site and my account is being Throttled constantly. It causes periodic delays while I'm making changes to my site. What is going to happen when I start my marketing campaign and I actually have traffic on my site?

I am not doing anything fancy. I loaded MODx and WordPress and I have one custom PHP script running as a Cron Job twice a day and my account is being throttled numerous times. Despite what Blu...

B Glasser

Aug 08, 2010 09:25
I find bluehost to be very average at best. While their support can be excellent at times at others it's very poor. Their servers are a bit on the slow side and the grouped cpanel can be a bit cumbersome to someone with very little experience with it. Like my business partner who isn't much of a techie.

They supposedly offer unlimited hosting, but then limit the number of files you can have on an account. That wouldn't be bad except they can't even tell you how many files that is. I have had 3 different people give me 3 different numbers and nowhere in their ToS does it state an actualy number. So apparently inspite of what they say in their ToS they do have an arbitrary number of allowed files. They just aren't saying what it is.

So for 6.95 a month you get unlimited dom...

Eileen

Jan 12, 2010 03:02
I was subscribed to bluehost for almost 2 to 3 years. But recently I had some problems with my files on the server being edit or go missing. Suddenly my admin panel will not be working. For the first round, i re-uploaded my admin panel and did not contact bluehost. But after sometime not even logging into my ftp account, the missing file problem arise again. This time i contacted bluehost. I understood from some articles that their server was hacked recently and when i mentioned that in my email, they told me its not their fault but its my files that is not secured. I told them i'm just a layman user, i just upload my files to their server and just hope my web site works. What is this about securing my files? They did not say more on how they can help me and from their emails i could te...

Dec 19, 2009 12:23
Blue host from my experience cannot host Joomla website. Their tech support don't know how to put a Joomla website online although their sales people tell you that they have scripts which can be used to host Joomla website. So beware they will lie to you that they can host a Joomla website but they are lying to you. l spent 6 hours of my time trying to host a Joomla web site with them and all they tried to do was to lie to me and and try and wanting to eventually take my paid subscription, but l was too smart for that l caught up with them right away before 3 days was over to lose my paid subscription.

Dec 08, 2012 03:26
deleted files
Keep away. danger.
I wish I could give a zero rating.
---
they deleted files. very bad. did not even apologize.

-
Dear Bluehost Customer,

Your Bluehost account (primary domain: Alhudabooks.com) is being migrated between servers.

The account is currently hosted on box800, which is running low on
available disk space on its home partition. Because the account is the
largest home user on the server, we are migrating it to box651. With an
account size of 394 gigabytes, we estimate 33 hours for the process to
complete.

Your website will be migrated to one of our newest and highest performance servers with the maximum amount of available resources....

Dave

Dec 18, 2009 08:58
I just signed up with Bluehost, but after the payment was taken and my account was created, the account was canceled.

The reason given was incorrect contact info. I called their support line, and was told that I would have to snailmail my ID and also give them my password in order to activate my account - i.e. there was no problem with the contact information with my account.

I don't see any reason why I should have to give my password to them to activate my account, so I canceled it.

Stay away from Bluehost.

Russ

Dec 16, 2009 08:17
BlueHost customer service is consistant, promp, courteous and satisfied my questions every time. The control panel is easy to navigate from first use. BluHost delivers! I'm glad we went with BlueHost.

Maynard

Nov 15, 2009 05:02
I run several domains and subdomains on one bluehost account. I have SSL on one domain, running OSCommerce.
I haven't had any big problems, I find them helpful on customer service, and uptime is as quoted or better.
Their server setup is very flexible for php, allowing me to set individual php.ini files.
I wouldn't have known that cPanel had been limited, because it has lots of useful functionality.
It's great value for money, and I'm a happy customer.

mitch o'daniels

Oct 18, 2009 12:37
I help a friend manage her BlueHost account and interact with BlueHost on her behalf. Their support is about as knowledgable as a tween with interweb access. I am not a "web professional" nor a site designer. I play in a bigger technology pool.

They have crippled cPanel features

They have injected ANNOYING and unprofessional upselling modules in cPanel

bluehost subdomain cPanel app is BORKED:

sub.sub.domain to /path/path2 mapping is VERY BORKED

BlueHost has no resolution for path conflicts of

funny.domain1.com
and
funny.domain2.com

this is NOT a bug with cPanel as support rabidly insists.

BlueHost has crippled user control of SpamAssassin

BlueHost has ZERO support for free distrubuted spam addons for Spa...